Happy Easter

Happy Easter everyone! I hope you all had a great time with your families and enjoying this special day of renewal of life for all!

My Easter weekend was good. I spent most of my time preparing Easter lunch and making a range of desserts. Though i have not taken a pic yet, which is disappointing but i have plenty of cakes left over for your viewing, i will hopefully get the pic taken today, fingers crossed!!

One of the first things i made were my Easter Iced Cookies. These were abit of a headache, not making the cookies but finding the cookie cutters!! I searched everywhere in my area for them, going into the major department stores and the little $2 shops but to no avail!!Then in my final attempt i rang a cake decorating shop and i was relieved to find that they stocked them!! Feewwww! Once i had them in my mitts i could get on with the baking!! They turned out really nice and i iced them with homemade royal icing, using real egg-whites mixed with icing sugar and a little lemon and coloured with food colouring.

Once my cookies were complete i attempted to make my mums Walnut Syrup Cake, which turned out wonderful. My husband loves this cake which is why i made it especially for him, plus when making it, he reminded me to flood it with the syrup…so i did!

My next attempt was a cake i saw on Martha Stewart’s website for an Apple Cake. This cake turned out spectacular! The texture and the smell was Divine, considering because i was fasting for lent that’s all i could test 🙂 But once Easter Sunday came along i was able to try my cake and it was surprising…it actually tasted like a Christmas fruit cake, though the only fruit in it was apple. It tasted like it had raisins and other dried fruit, very surprising. I made a caramel to top the cake by boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk for about 4hrs, soooo divine!

At the same time as my apple cake, i made a Coffee Walnut Swiss Roll filled with Coffee Walnut Cream. This cake is very easy with only afew ingredients but tastes so soft and creamy you’d think it took alot of skill!

So having all of my cakes ready to go, i spent most of the day preparing the lunch menu. With the help of my Hubby we decided on what to eat.

For entree i made a Chichen Noodle Soup, complete with chicken pieces. Our main meal consisted of a Roast Leg of Pork, Creamy Mashed Potatoes, Cauliflower Florette’s covered in a Cheesy Bechamel Sauce also a side of Steamed Asparagus and Carrots and a Mixed Garden Salad complete with Fresh Tomatoes, Cucumbers, Mixed Lettuce Leaves and Avocado with a fresh Vinaigrette Dressing.Once finished on our lunch meal, we had to have a break considering we’d stuffed ourselves silly and had no room for dessert! But don’t fret, we got to try all of the dessert goodies!!I will hope to get some of the pics up soon!

Happy Easter to all and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

